top of page

The Many Firsts: Announcing to the World, My First Blood Transfusion, and Chemo

Sharing something vulnerable is never easy, but it was necessary for me.


My First Blood Transfusion

Last week, I received my first blood transfusion. It was an emotional experience. And all I could think was “thank God this person donated their blood” and I wish I could shake that person’s hand, look them in the eye, and say “thank you.” Every stage throughout this process is a reality check…. A reality that life will look different for me and my family for the next year and half.
Pictured, is my father joining me. Family support is everything.

A week before that, I started chemo in pill form. Another reality check. Nothing can prepare you for the gut punch of an unfortunate health diagnosis. It truly felt like the air was sucked out of my chest. But I can’t even begin to tell you how family and friends and faith make it okay. The strength and support that my husband, parents, and family have had for me this past month is the only reason why I can share this now. Some of you know that I was diagnosed with a rare bone marrow disorder. Yes, I am purposely keeping this vague because “Doctor Google” doesn’t know anything.



Side note: When I shared to this original writing to social media, I wasn't ready to share my diagnosis. But significant things were happening in my life and that felt necessary for me to share. You have full control over what it is you want the world, your friends, and your family to know. So at the time, I kept MDS private.


But I will share that the cure is a bone marrow transplant; also known as a stem cell transplant. The past few weeks have consisted of waiting. Waiting for a donor match. Waiting is tedious, frustrating, and almost painful.


I’m not one to ever share personal details of my life or my personal opinions about things. Nor am I the type of person to accept help that easily. But this is a season in my life where I have no choice but to accept and welcome all the help and support. It’s a lesson that God is humbling me to learn. I’ve quickly realized that sharing with close family and friends—hearing their stories—has been a kind of lifeline for me. This is not easy to share, but maybe my sharing will be a lifeline to someone else… another lesson God wants me to learn. So I’ll be sharing my journey and rejoicing in the healing that God is already doing.


Emiliana and Uncle Louie


The other night we received news. Beautiful news. My very own brother is a match for my stem cell transplant. 💖 Growing up, I’ll always remember the times he would help me. He taught me how to swim under water, helped me with math, saved my computer when a virus popped up, would always share his Xbox and computer so that I could play Sims, come to my defense if there were mean kids at school; I could go on. And now, he’s gonna save my life. I love you, Louie. From the bottom of my heart, thank you everyone for prayers and believing in the healing that’s already taking place.





bottom of page