top of page

A Biblical Perspective: Transformation is Ongoing

Transformation.


Initially it makes me think of “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle.

For me, this has been a year full of constant change. And truthfully, we’re constantly in a state of change. But to be transformed... that requires some surrendering. Sometimes the outcomes may be good or bad, or maybe a combination. But what I do know is that with God, nothing is wasted. He takes every last bit of our mess and forms something beautiful. “And we know that for those who love God all things work for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28. A year ago, with a round, beautiful belly and hearts full of eager joy, we sat at our table for Thanksgiving and enjoyed a meal. I see in that woman vitality, health and LIFE; from weight gain to hair growth and most importantly, to that sweet baby girl inside. Pregnancy is such a miracle.

This year’s transformation is twofold; the outward and the inward.

Outwardly, I can’t imagine a starker contrast - from pregnancy to cancer, to becoming a parent, to completely surrendering my career, from depression to hope. Isn't it so remarkable to see how God can take these seemingly huge things and put them in their place. You come to realize that the God of heaven and earth, the alpha and the omega, the maker of the entire universe and beyond is the same God holding your hand in what ever battle you are now facing... in the mundane, at the office, in the hospital, in your kitchen, around the table, or in the car. God made it very clear that any sort of change has the potential to transform our minds. For Romans 12:2 says, "Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will."

The comparison from last year to this year is striking. "Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day." 2 Corinthians 4:16. As the year comes to a close, maybe I'll lose a little too much weight or maybe my hair will fall out, but inwardly, it's quite the opposite. I've never experienced anything of this magnitude in my life, and playfully I to have say, thank God for Jesus! An overwhelming relief wells in my heart knowing that He has experienced far worse than I am about to experience in the coming weeks but that He's also experienced this exact trial. Jesus. Wonderful Counselor. Mighty God. Everlasting Father. Prince of Peace.... my healer and my friend and my hope. So yes, outwardly this life is fleeting but inwardly, rests Jesus and LIFE everlasting.


bottom of page