top of page

A Biblical Perspective: Life Has Bad Stuff

Coming to terms with MDS


The thing about this process is that it will take you down everyday (if you let it). So you're gonna have choose your mindset, everyday.

Count it all joy, my brothers and sisters, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let the steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, and lacking in nothing. James 1:2-4 ESV.


Side Note: I originally shared this October 25, 2020


I’m kinda excited for the work that God is doing as He carries me and my family through this trial. I know there will be really tough days ahead, but the joy of the Lord is my strength (and weekends likes these!) Honestly, trials allow us to grow, change, become stronger, build relationships, and help others... Scripture straight up warns us that we will face extreme trials and difficulties in this world. And I fully appreciate that warning.


I was pretty exhausted in these photos (gotta love a filter!) but I knew all that was coming, I needed to make these days count more than ever. I needed to choose that for me and for my family. I needed to choose joy, to make memories, and laugh.
 

Today marks two months since I received my diagnosis of MDS which stands for myelodysplastic syndrome. Outside of that, I have never heard of it. I could sit here and tell you my specific type and what that means, but that would be pointless. Today also happens to be MDS World Awareness Day. And when I think about the last two months, sometimes I am met with fear. But immediately I am met with this Truth: that Jesus has overcome the world, MDS, my fear - that includes ALL of the rare diseases and even the ones that haven't been discovered yet, that includes all types of trials, heartaches, loss, addiction, miscarriage, brokenness, betrayal, depression - You name it. "I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33.


Jesus doesn't need an MDS world awareness day, He knew about it before I was born, before it was in my body, before medical science named it, before any worldly treatments were created. He was with me in the doctor's office for the biopsy and when I received the initial diagnosis. But even more amazing was that He knew things... things I couldn't understand and things I had questions to since Emiliana was born... the hindsight has a way of showing the full picture. It has left me in awestruck. The thing is, it’s not just the hindsight, it was His mighty hand. The Hand of God was over my life...even when I felt a distance from You Lord, you were there the whole time, holding my hand. If you are reading this today, I just want you know that God is with you, His hand is open, and He loves you so much. You don't have to "get good with Him" first, to go to Him. He knows you, all of you and loves you so very much.

bottom of page